Automated People Mover

Automated People Mover (APM) and Monorail systems are elevated and driverless transportation systems with a dedicated right of way and belong to the group of Automated Guideway Transit (AGT) systems. As experienced Automated People Mover (APM) planners and experts for engineering and design, we look forward to assisting you with feasibility studies, system planning and design, tender specifications, design reviews, and system acceptance.

The technology range for Automated Guideway Transit (AGT) is wide, beginning with monorails (and/or suspension railways, atmospheric railways) which run on or below a single guideway beam to Automated People Mover (APM) systems up to Personal Rapid Transit (PRT) systems which both normally run in a concrete guideway trough. Whereas elevated monorail systems are often used in urban environments for public passenger transport or in so called megaproject environments, Automated People Movers (APMs) are often used as airport connector and/or feeder systems. In general, Automated Guideway Transit (AGT) can be designed train based or single vehicle based. Both vehicle designs can be self-propelled (active vehicles) or cable-propelled (passive vehicles). Train based transportation systems such as monorails and APMs can be operated in shuttle, bypass, or pinched loop mode. The pinched loop mode allows for multiple trains running on one guideway track or lane. Single vehicle-based systems such as PRT normally operate in a circular continuous movement mode at very low headways.

In general, single vehicle-based systems are best suited for complex track alignments with a high number of intermediate stations but have limitations in transport capacity (max. 4.000 pphpd) and travel speed (max. 10 m/s), whereas train-based systems are perfect solutions for simple point-to-point connections with several intermediate stations and allow for system speeds up to 22 m/s.

Below you can find an excerpt of our Automated Guideway Transit (AGT) project references:

South-west line Graz | Austria

Contract: Feasibility study, planning

Technology: Automated People Mover (APM), monorail, Automated Gudeway Transit (AGT)

Customer: Holding Graz Kommunale Dienstleistungen GmbH

Duration: 2011 – 2012

Description:

The Automated People Mover (APM) and monorail feasibility study for the city of Graz contains the development of a new southwest local public passenger transport line and the integration of it into the city’s existing public transport network. The focus lies on driverless, elevated and guided transport solutions (Automated Guideway Transit (AGT)) which can be operated totally independent of the motorized individual traffic.

Content:

The following topics were addressed in the feasibility study:

  • Examination of the starting position incl. determination of the investigation areas, definition of the planning basis and the goals
  • Analysis of the framework conditions incl. description of the existing public transport network and the traffic related development potential for urban areas
  • Examination of possible track alignments and station locations
  • Creation of a passenger flow and ridership analysis and determination of the system performance parameters
  • Analysis of possible system technologies for an elevated, fully automated operation incl. illustration of the typical system boundaries and fields of application
  • Development of system requirements followed by a system evaluation and recommendation
  • Execution of system calculations and design incl. station and maintenance facilities, guideway, vehicles, and power distribution
  • Visualization of stations und guideway incl. vehicles (renderings)
  • Estimation of the system investment and operation & maintenance costs

Oakland Airport APM Connector | USA

Contract: Consulting

Technology: Automated People Mover (APM)

Customer: Siemens AG Austria

Duration: 2014 – 2015

Description:

Oakland Airport Connector APM

The project incorporates the Operation & Maintenance (O&M) manual review for BART’s Oakland Airport Connector (OAC) which has been operating since end of 2014.

The Oakland Airport Connector (OAC) links BART’s Coliseum Station with the Oakland International Airport (USA) via a mostly elevated Automated People Mover (APM) system along Hegenberger Avenue. Trains leave every four to five minutes between the Airport and BART stations, replacing the AirBART bus system. Like the “AirTrain” at the San Francisco International Airport, Oakland got a state-of-the-art train-to-plane connection. The Automated People Mover (APM) system is an integral part of the Bay Area Rapid Transit (BART) transport association.

Content:

The O&M manual includes the following documents:

  • System safety requirements
  • System functional description
  • System operation
  • Preventive maintenance
  • Corrective maintenance
  • Troubleshooting manual

Automated Guideway Transit strategy

Contract: Consulting

Technology: Automated Gudeway Transit (AGT)

Customer: Manufacturer of public transport systems

Duration: 2012 – 2013

Content:

The Automated People Mover (APM) and monorail feasibility study for the city of Graz contains the development of a new southwest local public passenger transport line and the integration of it into the city’s existing public transport network. The focus lies on driverless, elevated and guided transport solutions (Automated Guideway Transit (AGT)) which can be operated totally independent of the motorized individual traffic.

Content:

The strategy consulting included the following topics, which have been summarized in a comprehensive report:

  • Execution of a technology- and competitor analysis
  • Execution of a customer benefit analysis and evaluation of the competitive position
  • Analysis of the cost structure and execution of a price benchmark
  • Evaluation of the product portfolio and demonstration of potentials for product enhancement
  • Definition of the product strategy incl. USPs
  • Creation of a market analysis and development of the market strategy incl. market segmentation, market data, market drivers, market success factors, market cultivation, market enhancement potential
  • Execution of a SWOT analysis
  • Development of new business models incl. added value analysis, company group synergies, “make or buy” strategies
  • Implementation of a sales organization model
  • Development of project finance models

New mobility forms for passenger factory traffic

Contract: Feasibility study

Technology: E-bus, Autonomous Vehicles, Intermediary Transport Systems (Bus-Tram), Automated Guideway Transit (AGT) such as Monorail, Automated People Mover (APM), Maglev, Personal Rapid Transit (PRT)

Customer: Confidential

Duration: 2018

Description:

The factory traffic on the company premises currently takes place exclusively with diesel buses. The aim of the feasibility study is to identify environmentally friendly and promising forms of mobility for factory traffic and to create new transport concepts for the plant location.

Mobility forms for fine and primary distribution are evaluated based on site-specific and traffic-related criteria. Furthermore, the connection potentials to public transport, possible user groups and possible infrastructural restrictions are examined. Based on the findings, various alignment studies are conducted and compared.

The first step is to focus on internal mobility for people. Subsequently, the connection to the public transport system is examined before the adaptation of the means of transport for the internal freight transport is included in the investigations. Because in addition to the high number of passenger movements, a significant freight traffic is available at the location.

Currently, most factory workers come by car. The public transport and bicycle traffic shares are low. Thus, many parking lots are required, which are provided by several parking garages. The parking garages regularly reach their capacity limits at peak times in the mornings and evenings. This creates traffic congestion during the shift change times at the access and exit roads of the plant area.

The study delivers the groundwork for the establishment of a new transport infrastructure to encourage employees to use public transport. The aim is to significantly change the modal split and increase the share of public transport to at least 25%. In addition, the traffic routes within the factory premises are to be relieved of sustained passenger and freight traffic.

Content:

The following topics were addressed in the feasibility study:

  • Analysis of the project and local conditions
  • Creation of a traffic demand analysis
  • Comparison and evaluation of alternative modes of local public transport
  • Investigation and evaluation of traffic route concepts
  • Development of concepts for combined passenger and freight transport
  • Selection and dimension of selected local passenger transport technologies
  • Creation of layout plans and longitudinal sections
  • Analysis of critical environmental influences
  • Estimation of investment and operating costs
  • Development of a realization schedule
  • Conduction of a cost / benefit analysis
  • Presentation of the USPs

Automated People Mover

Automated People Mover (APM) und Monorail Systeme sind fahrerlose Transportsysteme, die kreuzungsfrei auf aufgeständerten Fahrbahnen verkehren und gehören zur Gruppe von Automated Guideway Transit (AGT) Systemen. Als erfahrene Automated People Mover (APM) Planer und Experten für Engineering und Konstruktion freuen wir uns, Sie bei Machbarkeitsstudien, Systemplanungen, Ausschreibungsspezifikationen, Designprüfungen und Systemabnahmen unterstützen zu dürfen.

Die Technologiebandbreite für Automated Guideway Transit (AGT) ist groß, beginnend mit Monorails (Einschienenbahn, Hängebahn, Schwebebahn), welche auf oder unter einem Fahrbahnträger fahren, über Automated People Mover (APM) Systeme, bis zu Personal Rapid Transit (PRT) Systemen, welche normalerweise beide in einer Fahrbahnwanne aus Beton verkehren.

Während aufgeständerte Monorails oft im urbanen Umfeld im öffentlichen Verkehr und bei sog. Megaprojekten zum Einsatz kommen, haben sich Automated People Mover (APM) Systeme als Verbinder-/Zubringer-Systeme im Flughafenumfeld einen Namen gemacht. Generell kann Automated Guideway Transit (AGT) zugbasiert oder einzelfahrzeugbasiert ausgeführt werden. Beide Fahrbetriebsmittelausprägungen können sowohl selbstfahrend (Fahrbetriebsmittel sind mit Antriebstechnik ausgestattet) oder seilgezogen (Fahrbetriebsmittel sind passiv) ausgeführt werden. Zugbasierte Transportsysteme wie Monorails oder APMs können im “Shuttle”, “Bypass” oder “Pinched Loop” Modus betrieben werden. Der “Pinched Loop” Betriebsmodus erlaubt den Einsatz von mehreren Zügen auf einer Fahrbahnstrecke bzw. Fahrbahnspur.

Einzelfahrzeugbasierte Transportsysteme wie PRT verkehren normalerweise im kreisförmigen „Continuous Movement“ Modus mit äußerst niedrigen Taktzeiten.Generell sind Transportsysteme mit Einzelfahrzeugen für komplexe Streckenführungen mit einer Vielzahl an Zwischenstationen gut geeignet. Die Transportkapazitäten (max. 4.000 pphpd) und die Systemgeschwindigkeiten (max. 10 m/s) sind aber limitiert. Im Gegensatz dazu stellen zugbasierte Transportsysteme gute Lösungen für einfache Punkt-zu-Punkt-Verbindungen mit einer überschaubaren Anzahl an Zwischenstationen dar. Die maximalen Systemgeschwindigkeiten betragen 22 m/s.

Nachfolgend finden Sie einen Auszug aus unseren Automated Guideway Transit (AGT) Referenzprojekten:

Südwest-Linie Graz | Österreich

Auftrag: Machbarkeitsstudie, Planung

Technologie: Automated People Mover (APM), Monorail, Automated Gudeway Transit (AGT)

Kunde: Holding Graz Kommunale Dienstleistungen GmbH

Dauer: 2011 – 2012

Beschreibung:

Die Machbarkeitsstudie für Automated People Mover (APM) und Monorail Systeme beinhaltet die Entwicklung einer neuen Südwest-Nahverkehrslinie und die Integration dieser in ein existierendes öffentliches Nahverkehrsnetz der Stadt Graz. Der Fokus liegt dabei auf fahrerlosen, aufgeständerten und spurgeführten Nahverkehrslösungen (Automated Guideway Transit (AGT)), welche vollkommen unabhängig vom motorisierten Individualverkehr (MIV) betrieben werden können.

Inhalt:

Folgende Themen wurden in der Studie behandelt:

  • Bestimmung der Ausgangslage inkl. Festlegung der Untersuchungsbereiche, Definition der Planungsgrundlagen und Ziele
  • Analyse der Rahmenbedingungen inkl. Darstellung des bestehenden öffentlichen Verkehrsnetzes und der verkehrstechnischen Erschließungspotentiale
  • Untersuchung von möglichen Streckenführungen und Stationsstandorten
  • Erstellung einer Passagierstrom- und Fahrgastzahlenanalyse und Festlegung der Parameter für die Systemleistung
  • Aufzeigen von möglichen Systemtechnologien für den aufgeständerten, vollautomatischen Betrieb inkl. Darstellung der typischen Systemgrenzen und Einsatzgebiete
  • Erarbeitung der Systemanforderungen mit anschließender Systembewertung und -empfehlung
  • Durchführung der Systemauslegung und Systemplanung inkl. Stationsgebäude, Wartungsdepot, Fahrweg, Fahrbetriebsmitteln und Energieversorgung
  • Visualisierung von Stationsgebäude und Strecke inkl. Fahrzeuge
  • Abschätzung der Systeminvestitionskosten und Betriebs- und Wartungskosten

Oakland Airport APM Connector | USA

Auftrag: Beratung

Technologie: Automated People Mover (APM)

Kunde: Siemens AG Österreich

Dauer: 2014 – 2015

Beschreibung:

Oakland Airport Connector APM
Die Arbeiten beinhalteten die Überprüfung und Überarbeitung der Betriebs- und Wartungsanleitung für BART’s Oakland Airport Connector (OAC) Transportsystem, welches Ende 2014 in Betrieb ging.

Der Oakland Airport Connector (OAC) verbindet BART’s Coliseum Haltestation mit dem internationalen Flughafen von Oakland (USA) durch den Einsatz eines aufgeständerten Automated People Mover (APM) Nahverkehrssystems. Alle vier bis fünf Minuten verkehren die Züge zwischen den beiden Haltestellen und machen den Einsatz des früheren „AirBART“ Bussystems überflüssig. Ähnlich wie beim nahegelegenen internationalen Flughafen von San Francisco, bekam auch Oakland ein modernes Flughafenzubringersystem. Das APM System ist ein integrativer Bestandteil des „Bay Area Rapid Transit“ (BART) Verkehrsverbundes.

Inhalt:

Die folgenden Dokumente sind Bestandteil der Betriebs- und Wartungsanleitung:

  • Sicherheitsanforderungen an das System
  • Funktionale Beschreibung des Systems
  • Betriebsanleitung
  • Präventive Wartung
  • Korrektive Wartung
  • Anleitung zur Störungsbehebung

Automated Guideway Transit Strategie

Auftrag: Beratung

Technologie: Automated Guideway Transit (AGT)

Kunde: Systemhersteller für öffentliche Verkehrsmittel

Dauer: 2012 – 2013

Inhalt:

Die strategische Beratung des Unternehmens umfasste folgende Themen, die in einem umfangreichen Bericht zusammengefasst sind:

  • Durchführung einer Technologie- und Mitbewerberanalyse
  • Durchführung einer Kundennutzenanalyse und Einschätzung der Wettbewerbsstellung
  • Analyse der Kostenstruktur und Durchführung eines Preisbenchmarks
  • Bewertung des Produktportfolios und Aufzeigen von Produkterweiterungspotentialen
  • Definition der Produktstrategie inkl. USPs
  • Erstellung einer Marktanalyse und Entwicklung der Marktstrategie inkl. Marktsegmentierung, -daten, -treiber, -erfolgsfaktoren, -bearbeitung, -erweiterungspotential
  • Durchführung einer SWOT Analyse des Unternehmens
  • Entwicklung von neuen Geschäftsmodellen inkl. Wertschöpfungsanalysen, Konzernsynergien, „Make or Buy“ Strategien
  • Erarbeitung einer Vertriebsorganisation
  • Entwicklung von Projektfinanzierungsmodellen

Neue Mobilitätsformen für den Werksverkehr

Auftrag: Machbarkeitsstudie

Technologie: Elektrobus, Autonome Fahrzeuge, Intermediäre Transportsysteme (Bus-Tram), Automated Guideway Transit (AGT) wie Monorail, Automated People Mover (APM), Magnetschwebebahn, Personal Rapid Transit (PRT)

Kunde: Vertraulich

Dauer: 2018

Beschreibung:

Der Werksverkehr auf dem Firmenareal findet momentan ausschließlich mit Dieselbussen statt. Ziel der Machbarkeitsstudie ist es, umweltfreundliche und zukunftsweisende Mobilitätsformen für den Werksverkehr aufzuzeigen und neuartige Verkehrskonzepte für den Werksstandort zu erstellen.

Dabei werden Mobilitätsformen für die Fein- und Grobverteilung anhand standortspezifischer und verkehrstechnischer Kriterien bewertet. Außerdem werden Anbindungspotentiale an den ÖPNV, mögliche Nutzergruppen und eventuelle bauliche Einschränkungen untersucht. Basierend auf den Erkenntnissen werden verschiedene Trassenstudien durchgeführt und gegenübergestellt.

Im ersten Schritt liegt der Fokus auf der internen Mobilität von Personen. In weiterer Folge wird die Anbindung an den ÖPNV untersucht, ehe die Adaptierung der Transportmittel für den internen Güterverkehr in die Untersuchungen hineinfließen. Denn neben der hohen Zahl an Personenbewegungen ist am Standort auch ein signifikanter Güterlieferverkehr vorhanden.

Momentan kommt die Mehrheit der Arbeitnehmer mit dem PKW zum Arbeitsplatz. Die ÖPNV- und Radverkehr-Anteile sind gering. Somit sind viele PKW-Stellplätze notwendig, welche durch mehrere Parkhäuser zur Verfügung gestellt werden. Die Parkhäuser erreichen zu den Spitzenzeiten morgens und abends regelmäßig ihre Kapazitätsgrenzen. Dadurch entstehen Staus zu den Schichtwechselzeiten an den Zufahrts- und Abfahrtstrassen des Werkareals.

Die Studie liefert die Grundlage für die Etablierung einer neuen Verkehrsinfrastruktur, um die Mitarbeiter zur Benutzung öffentlicher Verkehrsmittel zu animieren. Ziel ist es, den Modal-Split maßgeblich zu ändern und den Anteil des ÖPNV‘s auf mindestes 25 % zu heben. Außerdem sollen die Verkehrswege innerhalb des Werksgeländes nachhaltig vom Personen- und Güterverkehr entlastet werden.

Inhalt:

Folgende Themen wurden im Zuge der Machbarkeitsstudie behandelt:

  • Analyse der Projektrandbedingungen und örtlichen Gegebenheiten
  • Erstellung einer Verkehrsnachfrageanalyse
  • Vergleich und Bewertung von alternativen Mobilitätsformen des Personennahverkehrs
  • Untersuchung und Bewertung von Verkehrswegekonzepten
  • Entwicklung von Konzepten für den kombinierten Personen- und Güterverkehr
  • Auswahl und Auslegung der ausgewählten Personennahverkehrstechnologien
  • Erstellung von Lageplänen und Längenschnitten
  • Analyse kritischer Umwelteinflüsse
  • Abschätzung der Investitions- und Betriebskosten
  • Entwicklung eines Realisierungszeitplanes
  • Durchführung einer Kosten-/Nutzenanalyse
  • Darstellung der USPs