Urban

In urban public passenger transport buses, trams, metros and suburban railways or light rails prevail sustainably. Their common characteristics are that they are simple, reliable, and appropriate for city transport.

Buses are mainly used for the fine distribution in rural areas whereas trams (in big cities) and metros (in million- and mega cities) represent the backbone transportation lines. Generally, buses are often used as a compromise solution disregarding its strengths. Its main advantages are the low investment costs and considerable flexibility. Trams and metros are quite popular with passengers. Studies show that an extension of these kinds of systems always leads to an improvement of the modal split towards public passenger transport. Fully automated, elevated Automated Guideway Transit (AGT) like APMs, or monorails are only used sporadically as connector/feeder systems. Due to the derogation of the privacy (vehicle passing by close to windows of offices/private houses) in downtown areas and because of the high investment costs they are not very attractive for middle- and big cities. Only in mega cities where mobility with motorized individual transport is almost impossible several levels for public transport are necessary. This is where monorail lines can sometimes be found.

Environmentally friendly, flexible, comfortable transport solutions operating independent of the motorized individual transport will gain increasingly attention in the future in public passenger transport while the offer for pedestrians and cyclists will continuously be enlarged at the same time. Individual e-mobility or autonomous vehicles cannot solve the traffic jam problems in cities and encounters limits when trying to improve the efficiency of urban traffic. Even a green traffic jam still represents a traffic jam. The ongoing electrification of public passenger transport in combination with renewable energies will improve the current situation significantly and enables space saving mobility at the same time. New green transport solutions must be as powerful, available, flexible, and economical as successful passenger transport systems operating today to represent the backbone of modern urban passenger transport.

Urban

Im öffentlichen oder urbanen Nahverkehr haben sich Bus, Straßenbahn, U-Bahn und Stadtschnellbahn (S-Bahn) nachhaltig durchgesetzt. Alle vereint, dass es sich um einfache, zuverlässige und massentransportfähige Verkehrsmittel handelt.

Der Bus wird hauptsächlich zur Feinverteilung genutzt. Dagegen bilden Straßenbahnen (in Großstädten) und U-Bahnen und/oder Stadtbahnen (in Millionen- und Megastädten) die Hauptverkehrslinien (Rückgratsysteme). Generell ist der Bus oftmals eine Kompromisslösung und wird nicht seinen Stärken entsprechend eingesetzt. Er punktet jedoch mit sehr niedrigen Investitionskosten und hoher Flexibilität. Straßenbahn und U-Bahn sind bei den Passagieren beliebte Systeme. Studien belegen, dass ein Ausbau dieser Transportmittel immer auch eine Verbesserung des Modal-Splits (Aufteilung der Transportleistung auf die verschiedenen Verkehrsträger bzw. -mittel) hin zum ÖV bewirkt. Vollautomatische, aufgeständerte Systeme, sog. Automated Guideway Transit (AGT) Systeme z.B. in Monorail-Ausführung, kommen nur sporadisch als Verbinder-/Zubringersysteme zum Einsatz und sind wegen der Beeinträchtigung der Privatsphäre (durch nahe an Fenstern vorbeifahrende Fahrzeuge) und der hohen Investitionskosten für Großstädte noch zu wenig attraktiv. Nur in den Megastädten (Millionenstädten), wo Mobilität mit dem motorisierten Individualverkehr (MIV) praktisch unmöglich ist, braucht es mehrere Ebenen für den öffentlichen Verkehr. Dort sind vereinzelt Monorail-Linien anzutreffen.

Umweltfreundliche, flexible und vom MIV unabhängige Nahverkehrssysteme mit hohem Komfort werden bei gleichzeitigem stetigem Ausbau des Angebots für den Fahrrad- und Fußgängerverkehr immer mehr Bedeutung im ÖV erlangen. Individuelle Elektromobilität oder autonome Fahrzeuge lösen die Stau-Problematik in Städten nicht und verbessern die Effizienz des Verkehrs nur in begrenztem Maße. Auch ein grüner Stau ist immer noch ein Stau. Die weitere Elektrifizierung des ÖVs in Kombination mit erneuerbaren Energien wird die aktuelle Situation erheblich verbessern und gleichzeitig platzsparende städtische Mobilität ermöglichen. Die neuen grünen Nahverkehrssysteme müssen ähnlich leistungsfähig, verfügbar, flexibel und kostengünstig wie erfolgreich im Einsatz stehende Transportmittel sein, damit sie das Rückgrat des modernen ÖVs bilden können.