Tram

Synonyms for tram are terms like streetcar, trolley, or tramway.

Tram | Tramway | Trolley | Streetcar

In middle-sized to big cities the rail-based, electrified tram (tramway, trolley, streetcar) plays an important role. The tram has a long tradition and is an accepted and a popular local public passenger transport system for the primary and fine distribution in urban public transport networks. Nevertheless, it needs to be considered that the tram is only better than the bus if there exists an alignment which is completely independent from the motorized individual traffic.

The characteristics of trams are the same as the ones of other rail-based means of transport. These are a very smooth and quiet running, a pleasant ride- and a high boarding comfort thanks to its low-floor design as well as a high vehicle capacity compared to buses. Furthermore, the tram has a high area coverage and offers a good network capability.

Air pollution is prevented because of the electrical propulsion. It is mostly the residents which are usually confronted with a high density of motorized individual traffic and a high pollution of fine dust that benefit from this fact.

Among all the public means of transport, trams give the highest sense of modern urbanity and are the best ones to change the modal split favoring the local public passenger transport and thus reduce the motorized individual traffic in a city. Especially when compared to buses, trams have the so-called bonus of rails. There are transport service companies which register a growth of passengers of 80 % after changing from a bus- to a tram line. Moreover, a tram line has a positive influence on the development of a district. This refers to prices of properties as well as to the retail sector.

Thanks to the high presence of a tram in the urban environment its alignment is apparent and comprehensible to everyone. On the other hand, the rails and the overhead cables affect the motorized automobile traffic and increase the requirements concerning the architectural integration.

Due to the wheel-rail based system of a tram the grip that the tram brings on the rails is limited. Consequently, inclinations are only possible up to 8 %. On the other hand, as far as energy consumption is concerned, the wheel-rail based tram is more economic than the rubber-tired system thanks to the low friction.

Straßenbahn

Als Synonyme für Straßenbahn gelten Begriffe wie Tram und Bim.

Straßenbahn

Der schienengebundenen, elektrifizierten Straßenbahn, vielfach auch als Tram bezeichnet, kommt eine besondere Bedeutung in mittelgroßen bis großen Städten zu. Die Straßenbahn hat eine lange Tradition und ist ein allseits akzeptiertes und beliebtes Hauptverkehrsmittel (Rückgratsystem) für die Fein- und Grobverteilung. Bedenken muss man allerdings, dass die Straßenbahn gegenüber dem Bus ihre volle Stärke nur ausspielen kann, sofern eine vom MIV (motorisierter Individualverkehr) weitestgehend unabhängige Trasse besteht.

Eine Straßenbahn zeichnet sich, wie alle schienengebundenen Verkehrsmittel, durch hohe Laufruhe, angenehmen Fahr- und Einstiegskomfort (durch Niederflurigkeit) und hohes Fassungsvermögen im Vergleich zum Bus aus. Weiters bietet die Straßenbahn eine hohe Flächendeckung und gute Netzwerkfähigkeit.

Durch den elektrischen Antrieb der Straßenbahn entstehen keine Abgasemissionen. Davon profitieren besonders Anrainer von Straßenbahnstrecken und Städte, in denen aufgrund des dichten MIV die Feinstaubbelastung ohnehin sehr groß ist.

Straßenbahnen vermitteln laut Studien moderne Urbanität und tragen dazu bei, den Modal-Split (Nutzungsverteilung verschiedener Verkehrsmittel) zugunsten des ÖPNVs zu verändern und somit den MIV in einer Stadt zu verringern. Besonders gegenüber dem Bus besitzt sie den sogenannten Schienenbonus. Es gibt Verkehrsbetriebe, die nach der Umstellung einer Buslinie auf den Straßenbahnbetrieb Fahrgastzuwächse von 80 % verzeichneten. Eine Straßenbahnlinie hat darüber hinaus einen positiven Einfluss auf die Entwicklung eines Stadtteiles. Dies bezieht sich sowohl auf die Immobilienpreise als auch auf den Einzelhandel.

Die hohe Präsenz der Straßenbahn im öffentlichen Raum macht die Linienführung erkenn- und nachvollziehbar. Durch die Schienengebundenheit und die Oberleitungen entstehen aber auch Beeinträchtigungen im Autoverkehr und die Ansprüche an die architektonische Einbindung erhöhen sich.

Aufgrund des Rad-Schiene-Systems der Straßenbahn ist der Gripp, den die Straßenbahn auf die Schienen bringt, begrenzt. Folglich sind vertikale Steigungen nur bis maximal 8 % möglich. Auf der anderen Seite ist das Rad-Schiene-System der Straßenbahn aufgrund der geringen Reibung in Hinblick auf den Energieverbrauch wirtschaftlicher als Systeme mit Luftbereifung.